A blueprint course is a special type of course in Canvas that serves as a template for other courses. The content and settings in the blueprint course can then be pushed out to courses that are linked with that blueprint.  As you update your blueprint, your associated courses will also update.  This process makes it so you don’t need to keep copying content from one course to the next!

Blueprint Manager is a tool that allows instructors to create blueprint courses and to associate their courses with the blueprint.

Youtube Icon
If you’d prefer to follow along via videos, please check out the following links:
Creating a Blueprint Course
Associating a Blueprint Course with your PowerSchool Course
Syncing Changes from a Blueprint Course to your associated PowerSchool Courses

Sections

Enable a course as a blueprint

Content and settings

Associate courses with a blueprint course

Remove blueprint course associations

Tips for working with blueprints


Before you start

  • Only create blueprint courses from manually created courses. Never use a course that’s automatically created by PowerSchool. We recommend creating a new course to be your blueprint course for each course you want to create a template, or blueprint for.


Enable a course as a blueprint

Note:
In order to enable a course as a blueprint course:

-You must be enrolled in the course as a teacher.
-The course must not be associated with another blueprint course.
-The course must not have any students or observers.

To enable a course as a blueprint course:
  1. Log into Canvas and go to the course you wish to use as a blueprint template.
  2. In the course navigation menu on the left, click Settings. Then, in the sidebar at the right, click Blueprint Manager.
  3. Check the Enable course as a Blueprint Course box.
    Blueprint course settings
  4. Click Update Settings to save your selections.


Content and settings

Before associating courses with your blueprint course, create the content that you want to sync with the associated courses and review the course settings in your blueprint to make sure they are correct. Course settings, which include the navigation menu and course start and end dates, are included in the Blueprint Manager course sync by default.


Associate courses with a blueprint course

Once you have selected the settings to apply to the blueprint course, you will be able to associate courses.  You will want to do this each year when PowerSchool loads the new classes for the year.

  1. In the course navigation menu of the blueprint course, click Settings. Then, in the sidebar at the right, click the Blueprint Manager button.
    Blueprint Manager button
  2. Click Associate Courses. Courses already associated with the blueprint course will be listed under “Associated Courses”.
  3. Under “Available Courses”, select a term to display the list of courses you can associate with the blueprint course.
  4. Check the box for each course you wish to associate.
  5. Click Continue.
  6. Review the lists under “Final List of Associated Courses” and “Summary of Actions”. If everything looks correct, click Submit. (To return to the course association screen and change your selections, click Edit.)

When you complete the association process, the content and settings in the blueprint course will be pushed to the associated course(s).

Note:
If you receive a message indicating that your newly associated course(s) could not be synced because a sync was already in progress, return to the Blueprint Manager tool later and click Sync to attempt to sync again. You will not be able to use Canvas’s built-in manual syncing (as described below) until you have completed the sync in Blueprint Manager.

If further changes are made to the blueprint course, you will need to manually sync the content using the Sync option in Blueprint Manager or Canvas’s built-in sync tool. For more about Canvas syncing, see:


Remove blueprint course associations

  1. In the course navigation menu, click Settings. Then, in the sidebar at the right, click Blueprint Manager.
  2. Click Associate Courses. Courses already associated with the blueprint course will be listed under “Associated Courses”.
  3. Under “Available Courses”, uncheck the box(es) for course(s) you wish to de-associate and click Continue.
  4. Review the lists under “Final List of Associated Courses” and “Summary of Actions”. If everything looks correct, click Submit. (To return to the course association screen and change your selections, click Edit.)


Tips for working with blueprints

  • Announcements can only be locked if General Locked Objects is selected in the Blueprint Manager.
  • If items are published in a Blueprint course, they will show as published in the associated course.
  • If there are unlocked items in your Blueprint course, do not lock them after they have been synced unless you are certain they have not been modified in the associated course(s). Locking an item after a sync will overwrite changes made to the item in the associated course(s).
  • If a locked object (discussion, assignment, page, etc) has a file attachment or a link to a file stored in the Files tool, be sure to lock the file as well; otherwise the file can be deleted from the associated course(s), breaking the attachment or link.