In compliance with state law and to provide protection to victims of child abuse, the board believes incidents of alleged child abuse should be reported to the proper authorities. All licensed school employees, teachers, coaches and paraeducators are mandatory reporters as provided by law and are to report alleged incidents of child abuse they become aware of within the scope of their professional duties.
When a mandatory reporter suspects a student is the victim of child abuse, the mandatory reporter shall make an oral report of the suspected child abuse to the Iowa Department of Human Services within 24 hours of becoming aware of the abusive incident and shall make a written report to the Iowa Department of Human Services within 48 hours following the oral report. If the mandatory reporter believes the child is in immediate danger, the local law enforcement agency will also be notified.
Within six months of their initial employment, mandatory reporters will take a two-hour training course involving the identification and reporting of child abuse, or submit evidence they’ve taken the course within the previous three years. Once the training course has been taken, the certificate will remain valid for three years. Employees who have taken the two-hour training course will take the one-hour follow up training course every three years and prior to the expiration of their certificate.
NOTE: All mandatory reporter training certificates issued prior to July 1, 2019 remain effective for five years. Once this certificate expires, subsequent training certificates will be valid for three years.
NOTE: For more information, please visit the “Report Abuse and Fraud” section of the Iowa Department of Human Services’ website, located at http://dhs.iowa.gov/report-abuse-and-fraud.
NOTE: Please remember there are two types of reporters identified in Iowa law: mandatory reporters and permissive reporters. Mandatory reporters are those individuals who are required by law to report suspected incidents of child abuse when they become aware of such incidents within the scope of their employment or professional responsibilities. Permissive reporters are not required by law to report abuse, but may choose to report to the Iowa Department of Human Services. While all licensed school employees, teachers, coaches and paraeducators are mandatory reporters within the scope of their profession, they are considered permissive reporters outside the scope of their profession.
Iowa Code §§ 232.67-.77; 232A; 235A; 280.17.
441 I.A.C. 9.2; 155; 175.
Approved: May 4, 1990
Reviewed: July 18, 2022
Revised: August 1, 2022